14 SepLots of ELAA members among awards finalists

Posted on 14 Sep 2023

Congratulations to all the ELAA members named among the category finalists in the 2023 Victorian Early Years Awards (VEYA). Fourteen members have been named as finalists including:

Improving Access and Participation in Early Learning
Fast-tracking 15 hours of kindergarten for children at risk – Northern Schools Early Years Cluster Inc.

Supporting Parents to Build their Capacity and Confidence
Imagination Magic – Melton City Council

Creating Collaborative Community Partnerships
Darebin Best Start Aboriginal Reference Group – Darebin City Council

Promoting Children’s Health and Wellbeing
Passport to Play Project – Maribyrnong City Council

Continuity of Early Learning
The Northern Schools Early Years K-6 model – Northern Schools Early Years Cluster Inc.
Gowrie Carlton’s Learning Precinct Partnership – Gowrie Victoria

Early Childhood Teacher of the Year
Rachael Gemmill – Glen Education Glover Street Kindergarten
Michelle Ives – Glenroy Central Kindergarten

The Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler Excellence in Educational Leadership Award
Early Childhood Education Team – Early Childhood Management Services Inc
Centre for Early Education, Ballarat Grammar
Springvale Service for Children

Aunty Rose Bamblett Koorie Early Years Legacy Award
Rosedale Uniting Kindergarten

Educator of the Year Award
Sue Bullock – Kinglake Ranges Children’s Centre
Brittany Hood – Edithvale Family and Children’s Centre
Wida Tausif – Glen Education Chelsea Kindergarten

The VEYA category winners will be announced on Thursday, 9 November and ELAA wishes all our member finalists the best for their great working in advancing excellence and equity in Early Childhood Education and Care.

Balnarring Preschool named HESTA Early Years finalist

Congratulations also to the team from Balnarring Preschool (ELAA member) on being named a finalist in the HESTA superannuation Early Childhood Education and Care Awards in the category of Advancing pedagogy and practice. Balnaring Pre-School was nominated for implementing a nature program, which involves learning in and with the natural environment. They worked with esteemed Elders N’Arwee’t Dr Carolyn Briggs and Fay Stewart-Muir to embed knowledge and cultures into the learning, and ensure First Nations People’s teaching is now part of everyday practice. The HESTA awards winners will be announced on 6 October.

Keep in Loop Keep in Loop
Go to Top